Yummy Sunday

Yay! Today is Yummy Sunday, so I have baked a very special Pear Crumble also known as Pero Tapo.

The story of the Tapo(s) started some time ago when I worked in a center for children with special needs in Brighton. One day one of the kids asked me to bake an Apo Tapo for him. After a lot of scratching my head trying to think what he was asking for, I realised he wanted Apple Crumble. We then both baked Apple Crumble. In fact, he taught me how to do most of it, since at the time I was quite new to the world of Crumble. Anyway, since then any Crumble I have baked has been lovingly named Tapo – so Pear Crumble is known as Pero Tapo in my household.

 

Here’s my recipe for Pero Tapo:

yummy sunday-Pear Crumble

Ingredients

4 Pears

3 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar

1 cup of oat flakes

1 cup of plain flour

1/2 cup of sugar

3 tablespoons of butter

Peal the pears and cut them in to small pieces. Put in an oven-proof tray, add the pear pieces and the brown sugar together. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes at 180 ℃. Meanwhile add and mix together the oats, sugar and plain flour in a bowl. Add the butter to the flour mixture and mix together with your fingers until you have a flaky/sandy consistency.

Add the butter mixture on the top of the baked pears and bake it all together for another 30 minutes.

ENJOY✿

Any questions, suggestions or nice words?

